Special Purchases – awesomeness of Macross Plus

Ok, I guess it’s time for my geeky side to take control again lol, on my last visit to Shimokitazawa I was lucky enough to find a cheap copy (about 500 yen) of the Macross Plus Cream P.U.F CD, it’s a collection of songs by Sharon Apple from the movie. For those who don’t know, any anime fan with any decent taste should watch Macross Plus as it is (in my opinion) one of the best animes ever made. When the original OVA was made it had one of the highest development budgets for any anime of it’s time. The OVA was then used to make the movie, however new scenes were added and the sequence of events in the film are slightly different compared to that of the OVA. Anyway, most of the soundtrack was composed by Yoko Kanno (who I have mentioned before, I love most of her work). I believe the Macross Plus soundtrack is one of the best, I think most new anime pales in comparison. The majority of the orchestral music from Macross Plus can be found on the first soundtrack (which I actually purchased in England). I just have to get OST2 now as that has some tracks which I don’t have. If you haven’t seen Macross Plus yet, you can find out more info on it here: Macross Plus Wiki

macross_plus_cream_puf.jpg

plus.jpg

Anyway, the second special purchase I made was I.De.a album by Kyosuke Himuro. Himuro’s track Calling was actually used in Final Fantasy VII Advent Children, and I loved it so much I wanted to listen to more of his music. I can say that getting his album was the best 100 Yen I have ever spent on a bargain CD!! I’m going to keep on the look out for more of his music because it’s pretty awesome!

Leave a Reply

