Checking out TBS in Akasaka

Over the weekend I decided to check out the latest major architectural development in Tokyo. Only just opened in March of this year, TBS has opened a new shopping district and apartment complex which is quite obviously a strategic move for fighting its competition (which is mainly TV Asahi in Roppongi Hills I’m assuming). Well how does the new shopping site fair against Roppongi Hills and Tokyo Midtown you maybe asking… It’s alright I guess… but nothing special. TBS are definitely cashing in with the presence of their own giftshop selling a whole load of over-priced useless shit (only thing which caught my eye were groovy ultra-man biscuits). Apart from that a lot of the area is actually just home to a lot of fancy cafes, restaurants and some posh confectionery shops. Lastly there is also a Tsutaya and some convenience stores. The place overall just seems to be very similar to Tokyo Midtown. Anyway, after checking out the TBS site I decided to head over to the nearby Hie Shrine, which just happens to have a major festival coming up (you may have heard of it, it’s the Sanno Matsuri). Unfortunately I’m quite busy with work during the festival period so I probably won’t be able to get much coverage of it for the blog. Anyway, to finish off the afternoon in the Akasaka area I decided to find and check out the Hikawa Shrine which really did not disappoint, it’s now one of my favourite areas in Tokyo. But I’ll post more info about it later, so stay tuned 😉

Leave a Reply

