On a sad note…

Well, as you should all know, Metal Gear Solid 4 is finally out but alas, I don’t have a PlayStation 3 😦 I went to Akihabara today and the area is full of MGS4 related advertising, check out these pics:

One big store in Akiba (Asobitcity) is even selling the US version of the game, although stocks are very low now. I don’t know if I can buy a PS3 just before I leave Japan, I have savings for it but there’s a lot of travelling I’d like to do, ah well, I’ll have to wait and see, but I have to say that this is the first game which I can finally say is worth buying a PS3 for.

But on to a much more serious note- today was the first time I had been to Akiba since the horrific attack that happened there. The atmosphere was a bit sad and there was an area on the main road for people to pay their respects to the deceased. Obviously there are a lot more police in the area also. I consider myself lucky that I wasn’t there that day, I actually go to Akiba quite often when I’m free. I don’t want to bore you with all of my thoughts on this topic but I’ll just say that a lot more needs to be done in order to solve the problem that Japan is facing. There are some sick bastards here in Japan now (just recently one guy was arrested for pushing someone off the platform and into an on-coming train) and policing, whilst important for stopping these psychos, just isn’t enough on its own. There’s a serious problem with communication here in Japan, and I think that might be one reason why some people become a little crazy in the first place- there’s a build up of a lot of work related stress and other possible factors, and most people have no one to talk to about these problems. In school there’s a considerable amount of pressure on students to do well in their exams and a lot have to attend cram school (which I guess is another reason why a lot of students kill themselves). There also might not be enough communication within the family. Anyway, I haven’t done enough research into this problem to provide a solid opinion but what I can say for sure is that there needs to be some considerable change in Japanese society for things to improve.

One thought on “On a sad note…

Leave a Reply

