Gackt – the iconic star of Japanese rock

This man needs no introduction, but just in case you’ve been living in a cave for the past decade, I’ll give one! Gackt originally rose to fame when he was in a visual kei band called Malice Mizer, however in 1999 he decided to launch his solo career, and I think that really was a good idea because his solo music is much better than that with his former band (just my opinion! :P) Gackt is pretty much one of the most successful Japanese musicians and he has formed a solid fanbase outside of Japan. He’s also done his fair share of voice acting, being featured in Final Fantasy and the New Fist of the North Star, and he even got his own video game, called Bujinkai. Lastly he also wrote the script and starred in a movie called Moon Child (I’ve seen it and my honest opinion is that I thought it was shit, but hey, his music still rocks!) Here are my favourite songs:

This is the 6th day single version of Mizerable, I prefer it to the original:

The opening of Shin Hokuto no Ken (New fist of the north star) The song is called Luna:

This is an awesome live performance of Black Stone:

Last, here’s a brilliant live performance on piano of his great song, Last Song:

3 thoughts on “Gackt – the iconic star of Japanese rock

  1. Well I’ll tell you it’s nice to know that I’m not the only one that thought ‘Moonchild’ was absolute rubbish. I nearly wet myself laughing while watch the movie, I really think that Gackt should continue writing music, and not literature or movie scripts.

  2. Haha, I actually liked him in Malice Mizer, and I really hate visual kei. His MARS album was good, after that it just became sappy j-pop. Although it has been getting better now…

Leave a Reply

