Enjoying a pleasant walk to the Atago Shrine

Today the weather was perfect for a walk so I decided to head toward the Atago Shrine, a shrine which I have visited several times before but usually when it was dark. Today was the first time I went during the day and it was more of a pleasure to actually see the full splendor of the shrine on such a great sunny day.  The shrine was originally constructed way back in the early 1600s, under the order of the first Tokugawa shogun (Ieyasu) in order to protect the neighbourhood from fires. The main entrance is home to a rather grand set of stairs and it’s a pretty hefty work-out getting to the top!! However there are 2 other sets of stairs which lead to the main shrine so I used one of those to go down. If you like the Atago shrine you might also like to check out my post on the Hikawa Shrine located in Akaska, which I wrote the last time I was in Japan.

walk1

Some of the scenery on the way…

walk2

walk3

walk4

The shrine is actually near the NHK museum, which I wrote about a while back!

atagoshrine1

Outside the shrine…

atagoshrine2

close-up of the main stairs…

atagoshrine3

One of the guardian things by the stairs (I don’t really know what they’re called!! :S)

atagoshrine

View from the top…

atagoshrine6

atagoshrine7

atagoshrine8

atagoshrine9

atagoshrine11

atagoshrine11

atagoshrine12

You can’t see it in the picture but entrance to this area is actually restricted by a gate which was locked, I zoomed in. I wonder if there is any significance behind that building…

atagoshrine13

A nice path to one side of the shrine, a much easier way of leaving than using the stairs at the front!!

atagoshrine14

An old sign located on the shrine grounds. I can’t read much, but it’s about smoking cigarrettes. The red characters to the left state that entrance is prohibited.

atagoshrine15

atagoshrine16

atagoshrine16

If you’re looking for a peaceful way to spend some time in Tokyo then I recommend checking out the Atago Shrine!!

2 thoughts on “Enjoying a pleasant walk to the Atago Shrine

Leave a Reply

