From Toranomon to Yotsuya!!

Today I didn’t have all that much to do so I decided to walk from Toranomon (I started off near where TV Tokyo is located) to Yotsuya, which is an area where the famous Sophia University is located (known as ‘Jochi Daigaku’ in Japanese). This has become one of my favourite routes because there is a variety of interesting stuff along the way which I would like to share with you! If you have some free time in Tokyo why not try taking a similar walk? You might discover some interesting places along the way!

Ark Hills

First I went through the Ark Hills complex which is home to the Suntory Hall which hosts orchestral concerts I believe. TV Asahi is also located here as well as some nice restaurants and cafes. TV Asahi also has another main building in the Roppongi Hills complex.

ark1

ark2

ark3

ark4

ark5

ark6

ark7

TBS in Akasaka

After walking for a while I passed through TBS’s new building complex which features various shops and restaurants including TBS’s very own giftstore. I wrote about it earlier also.

tbs2

tbs1

tbs3

Approaching Yotsuya

I proceeded up a hill located near the Akasaka Palace. Outside the palace there’s a pretty sweet small park, perfect for spending time chilling with your date! The area has a very European feel to it and it makes a great change from the futuristic buildings which heavily dominate a lot of central Tokyo!

hill1

hill2

hill3

A side gate for the Akasaka Palace (I think!)

palace1

palace2

palace3

Yotsuya

The first few pictures are from outside Yotsuya JR station and the final pictures are interesting posters and sign I found. I will definitely be checking out that coffee shop at some point!! Enjoy!!  More pictures will be on the way!!

yotsuya1

yostuya2

yotsuya3

yotsuya4

yotsuya5

I just happened to notice this pretty neat poster put up by the Tokyo fire brigade. It’s designed to raise awareness about what to do if a big earthquake strikes. Do they have posters like this in your country? I can’t even remember seeing any posters designed by the fire department in England but I’m pretty sure they’re not as interesting as this! (To be fair though we don’t have to worry that much about earthquakes back in the UK).

yotsuya7

Leave a Reply

