Photography in Osaka

Ok, here are some of the pictures I took on my trip in Kansai (all of these were in Osaka). Looking back at what I took, I actually didn’t take anywhere near as much as I was expecting I would. Anyway, I hope you enjoy ’em! Night photography will be up at a later date ๐Ÿ˜‰ Also I have a set which I took in Kobe which will also be up later. Although I hung out in Kyoto I didn’t take many pictures there but whatever I took might eventually turn up on the blog!

Highlights from Osaka

osaka1

These lanterns were up in celebration of a Japanese festival called ‘Tanabata.’ There is a story about 2 lovers but I don’t really know much about it to be honest…

osaka2Believe it or not but this is actually part of a Karaoke complex! I haven’t been inside, maybe I should go with some friends next time I’m in Osaka!

osaka3A fountain in an underground shopping mall called Whitey. I can’t remember if I mentioned on the blog before but there are a ton of underground shopping malls in the Kansai region, especially in Osaka!

osaka4Sprinklers like these can be found all over Osaka emmitting a cooling mist which is good for recovering from the insane Kansai heat! These ones were pretty effective however the other ones I have seen just seem to be pretty wasteful.

osaka5Taken during the evening at Namba Parks, a shopping complex very similar to that such as Roppongi Hills in Tokyo

osaka6Also taken from Namba Parks…

osaka7Posters in a video games arcade. This pic didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped, I should have adjusted the angle… ah well

osaka8…speaking of arcades, the UFO catcher machines in Japan are insane. There’s so much more stuff available to win. This one has some neat mini gadgets….

osaka9…and from this one you can win bags! Photography was actually forbidden in the arcade but I managed to evade the staff when I took these. Unfortunately I couldn’t take any more pics otherwise I would have been caught!!

osaka10So many escalators!! Taken inside Hep 5, a large shopping and entertainment complex in the Umeda district.

Osaka11

Osaka12I have my friend to thank for pointing out this area, she might do well if she takes up photography!

osaka13Large advertisement at a shopping mall in Amemura (short for Amerika-Mura, it’s kinda like the Harajuku of Osaka, a Mecca for youth fashion) The advertisement is for Docomo, a Japanese cell-phone company and the guy is Matsuyama Kenichi of Death Note fame.

osaka14

What do you guys think? Osaka really has a charm of it’s own, in some parts I would say it’s more dirty than Tokyo however I feel somewhat comfortable there, the people are very down-to-earth and some of the newly developed areas for the youth are really neat. If you visit, I recommend checking out Shinsaibashi, a shopping arcade which is a bit more chic than what you would normally find in Japan, and the area near MBS, an Osaka based TV station. Over there you’ll find a games arcade and a Loft, a really cool shop that sells a variety of household goods, cosmetics, bags, watches etc.

5 thoughts on “Photography in Osaka

  1. I can’t wait to go to Osaka (as well as Kobe and Nara) when I’m there next!!
    I made it to Kyoto on 3 separate trips, and Tokyo lots of times, but never to the other parts of Kansai.
    I’m super excited to check them out!

    Love the photos, especially the first (:

Leave a Reply

