Azabu Juban festival!

Here it is… the Azabu Juban festival post! Unfortunately though I didn’t take many good photos… I went 2 nights, the first night I was just passing through in order to get through to Roppongi but I had my Canon with me, so I took a few shots once I got to Roppongi Hills. The second night I went I was with a friend and I just had my compact Fuji. Unfortunately we were more busy actually enjoying the festival and eating the delicious festival food that I didn’t take many photos. Anyway, hope you enjoy the pics! The Azabu-Juban festival is much larger than a typical one you might come across, so if you ever have the chance, I really recommend you check it out, it’s awesome!! The main attraction is really the food- not only is there the typical festival food such as yakisoba but since many embassies are located in the vicinity there is an area for all of the embassies’ stalls which sold the specialities of their representative countries. There were also stalls selling jewelery and clothes, a stall for face-painting, a stage for musicians, etc. I really should have taken more photos! 😦

Photos with the Canon

These are pictures of the big bon-dance stage which was set up at Roppongi Hills…

aj1

aj2

aj3

aj4

aj5

My favourite shot from the whole festival

My favourite shot from the whole festival

Photos with the Fuji

The festival gets REALLY crowded

The festival gets REALLY crowded

Have you seen that bear before? It's 'Rirakkuma'!! He's very famous in Japan

Have you seen that bear before? It's 'Rirakkuma'!! He's very famous in Japan

People relaxing in a small park in the centre of Azabu-Juban, thankfully a great way to escape the crowds on the streets!

People relaxing in a small park in the centre of Azabu-Juban, thankfully a great way to escape the crowds on the streets!

aj10


5 thoughts on “Azabu Juban festival!

  1. What a fun festival! I visited Roppongi on a lazy afternoon. Never really saw crowds, just wide open spaces. 🙂 And never heard of Azabu. My friend/guide failed to mention it. Heard of that pop star who lives there though.

  2. >I really recommend you check it out, it’s awesome!!

    It’s a popular summer festival, the 麻布十番祭 (Azabu-jyuban Festival) has many people in small streets. It’s very crowded.

    I’m used to Tokyo’s crowds, so I don’t mind it…but some people visiting Japan might be surprised by this festival’s crowd.
    Personally, I’d recommend other summer festivals to a visitor to Tokyo.

Leave a Reply

